Posted in beauty, lifestyle, Makeup, style

ULTA Beauty Review: Matte Lip Creams

I recently purchased some ULTA Matte Lip Creams (retail for $9 each) from Ulta.com. I was in need of some fall lip colors to get myself more in the mood. They were on sale: buy two get two free, so I thought it was a good time to try them out.

I got four colors: Courageous, Passion, Stirring, and Allusive.

Here are arm swatches for each:

Left to right: allusive, stirring, passionate, and courageous


Initial thoughts when I first got these were that the colors were absolutely gorgeous and the pigmentation of the lip cream was impressive. Applying them on my lips was hassle-free and I loved the creamy, satin like feel. However, I was worried for a moment that these wouldn’t truly fit the matte definition as tt takes quite a few minutes for the lip cream to dry to its matte finish. Once it dries it doesn’t feel like you’re wearing anything. It doesn’t dry out my lips or feel tight and uncomfortable like other matte lip formulas.

They are not smudge proof, although they pass the kiss the back of my hand test. They do have a staining affect to the lips so the color will still be quite pigmented after eating and drinking. They come off very easily with a makeup remover wipe.

The lasting power of this formula is great. You can most likely get through the entire day with these with minimal touch ups! You’ll mostly need to touch up the inside of the lips after eating or drinking.

While darker liquid lipsticks tend to have the issue of being patchy or difficult to apply,  I don’t notice patchiness or unevenness of the dark colors allusive and stirring when applying them. I’m happy that isn’t an issue. I cannot stand patchy lip products, especially when they’re a gorgeous color.

I am pleased with these lip creams. I’m not sure if I will repurchase these because they are a bit more expensive than what I’m used to paying for drugstore priced lipsticks. However Ulta usually has awesome sales on their website that mark down the price considerably. When they have a good sale I’ll more than likely purchase them then.

I recommend the Ulta matte lip creams and give them a 8/10 rating.

Subscribe to this blog for more beauty advice and reviews, fashion and style tips, and lifestyle tips! And make sure to follow my social media!

One thought on “ULTA Beauty Review: Matte Lip Creams

Leave a Reply

