Posted in beauty, Beginner, Health, Health and wellness, lifestyle, Makeup

DIY Skin Care: Easy DIY Toner for Oily/Acne Prone Skin

 

Here’s why DIY skin care products can be beneficial for you:

 

Having oily, acne prone, and sensitive skin can make things pretty hard to find really good skin care products that suit my skin type, let alone works! Compiling all the right products for a good skin care routine can get really expensive really fast. Think about it: we’re told sunscreen is non-negotiable, moisturizer is essential, serums are a must-have, and we haven’t even added on cleansers, toner, essence, eye creams, night creams, facial mists, masks, elixirs, the list seems to go on! The end total of that list could have potential to throw your budget out of whack! So wherever I can save, I certainly will. DIY skin care products will definitely help save you some money!

 

Another thing is that more people are growing concerned about the ingredients list of their skin and body care products now. We’re learning that once seen as a savior for oily and acne prone skin,  alcohol is ultra-drying and can actually lead to more overproduction for sebum, in turn causing more breakouts. What a waste of time! Dermatologists and skin care experts are informing us of more and more less- good- for- you and even harmful preservatives and chemicals found in some of our favorite skin care products, like lotions and body creams, to cleansers and moisturizers. I don’t want to put anything on my skin that may cause adverse effects or not do what I need it to do. When you have DIY skin care products, you’ll know exactly what you’re putting on your skin.

 

That being said, I’ve been doing a lot of research on DIY skin care. I’m not one to create my own soaps and moisturizers, but I’m definitely gotten pretty good at whipping up my own body scrubs and buttercream. (I’ll share a couple of recipes for that in the future too.) Then I thought of creating my own toner. I was reading a magazine that mentioned a quick and simple DIY toner recipe, and I added a few of my own touches to it. It works like a dream! When I use it my face feels refreshed and cool, the oil production decreases, and I’m not breaking out as much.

 

My DIY toner calls for:

 

  • 8oz filtered or spring water (NOT tap, please!)
  • 8 oz 100% aloe vera juice
  • 4 oz cucumber juice
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice

 

 

Shake all the ingredients together in a bottle and refrigerate. You MUST keep this refrigerated, as it will spoil if left at room temperature. This should keep for about eight weeks.

 

The Aloe Vera in this DIY toner is incredible for the skin, with hydrating properties that add needed moisture and doesn’t dry your skin out. Cucumber juice soothes and calms the skin reducing inflammation and puffiness, and the astringent properties of lemon juice keeps acne at bay. The lemon juice alone can be very drying for your skin, so it is best when diluted as it is in this toner.

 

Use it morning and night after your cleansing routine. If you work out, I highly recommend wiping some of this on your face with a cotton round or spritzing some on and wiping your face down; It’ll reduce inflammation, puffiness, redness and irritation from the salt in your sweat, as well as give you a refreshing cool down. Try it out for yourself and let me know how it works out for you! Cheers to great skin!

2 thoughts on “DIY Skin Care: Easy DIY Toner for Oily/Acne Prone Skin

Leave a Reply

